Art in Action 2013

 

I always enjoy a visit to Art in Action and try to make it each year. I always discover an exciting gem!

This year I had one artist in my sights and that was Rosalind Wyatt. In my previous level 2 course I did a lot of research into the mental health of women through history and I discovered Agnes’ jacket. Created in Germany by a female mental health patient, it is an embroidered jacket that has words embroidered all over it and seems to be a discussion about her incarceration. See image here…

During my research I rediscovered Rosalind Wyatt who has produced a series of work inspired by the same jacket.

 

Art in Action is a perfect way to meet artists and talk to them about their work and I had the opportunity to speak to Rosalind about her current project ‘The Stitched Lives of London’.

