Exploring the possibilities

Based on my initial studies of wrapped mummies I simplifyed the initial study further and created a pattern, using photoshop, that could be repeated…
sample1b

Using this pattern I further explored in Photoshop by repeating the design and sampling colour from the following image in my collection…

sample1c

This is the result. I think that this works well but is very formal and doesn’t really convey the dark ideas that the origonal images did.

sample1

Using the rorschach imagery I created a drop repeat but overlayed the imaged onto each other. With each drop I added a graduation in colour, going from pink to almost black. This metaphores life well with pink representing birth and the grey / death with the rorschch representing our struggles.

sample2

I combined imagery from the Nasa images with the Rorschach image for the following. Using an axis point I rotated each by a percentage whilst also dropping the opacity down as well. The sense of movement works well here and I was really pleased with this image. I could definately expand on this.

sample3

sample4

I was intrigued by the section in the middle of the previous image, where the two circles meet. I took a small square sample from the centre and created a repeat, see left image below. I then repeated and colourized it, see image right.

sample5

Using two previous images the rorschach drop repeat with the line repeat I combined the two to create the following. This has worked very well I think visually as a pattern, the background adds depth and texture. This is quite futuristic looking though and again doesn’t convey the darkness of the origonal.
sample6
The rorschach imagery has worked very well colourized with a background colour. This has less dramatic impact but does retain it’s essence of darkness with the blood red colour.
rorschachNasaREDSM

I am overall really pleased with these images and have really enjoyed creating these patterns and repeats with the computer.

