Research Point: Repeat Patterns

I looked at the section in ‘Dyeing and Screen Printing on Textiles’ by Joanna Kinnersly-Taylor. This section of the book explains quite well different repeat patterns.

Using a simple design cut into a potato I have explored various different repeat patterns within my sketchbook.

sketchbook-Repeat-Patterns sketchbook-Repeat-Patterns

 

sketchbook-Repeat-Patterns

sketchbook-Repeat-Patterns

I feel relatively comfortable using Photoshop, I intend to experiment with offsetting imagery. One thing photoshop allows me to do that I cannot do quickly with cut outs or potato printing is flipping imagery so I think that will be interesting to use. Opacity  so that I can overlay imagery.

With digital designs I imagine them being used as a means of printing  rather than woven imagery. Because of this my deigns can afford to be more complex in structure.

 

