Exercise: Visualising your designs 2

I was a bit uninspired to start with as I don’t envisage my textiles being used in a particularly traditional way, i.e. fashion or interiors. However as I started to consider this exercise I felt that they could be part of a site specific installation. I have a series of images that I had found within pinterest, of abandoned asylums. These lost and lonely places, forgotten by time, are reminiscent of the people who would have been incarcerated within them. I would love the opportunity to explore and visit an abandoned asylum and even create a piece of work specific to one, so this really did feel appropriate and right for my vision of my work.

I don’t know any abandoned asylums and I don’t have any images of my own, so I have had to resort to images found online. I know that in a real life scenario I would need to either use stock photography or contact the photography for permission to use the image.  I cannot show the images here for copyright reasons so I have uploaded them onto my folder ‘my digital work‘ on the student website.

It is a really affective way of showing a design insitu, not just to a client but to the artist as well. It gives a real idea of whether a design works before spending more time and money on a design. It also helps with the scaling of a design, giving the artist a way of changing the scale on a real example and seeing the effects.

I am pleased with my 3 examples:

  • the first is a cover on a chair using the red design
  • the second is a cover on an arm chair using the blue design
  • the third is an experimental image using the 3D features within Photoshop CC. I created a basic sphere and was able to sit the design within it. I used an empty gallery as a background.

Within the two chair images, I carefully masked the area that would be covered. I cut this section out and duplicated it onto two separate layers. Between these two layers I placed another layer containing the repeat design. Using alt click I placed this layer within the cut and pasted masked section. Using the perspective warp tool I was able to create the right amount of perspective on the design layer. I adjusted the opacity of the top masked layer and used the dodge and burn tool to add shade and highlights as well as using a light drop shadow to finish the whole image off.

This exercise has really excited me to the possibilities of working within an abandoned space at some point. But also the prospects of using photoshop not just for design elements and image finishing but also within presentation and visualisation.

 

